Bringing Britain’s musical heritage alive

Founded in 1979, the British Music Society is dedicated to promoting and preserving Britain’s musical heritage with particular emphasis on 20th century composers through recordings, publications and events

Arnold Bax to be recognised in Scotland

The news that internationally renowned British composer, Sir Arnold Bax, is to be officially recognised in Scotland will be welcomed by BMS members and all classical music enthusiasts. A bronze plaque unveiling ceremony, due to...

Book review: The Music of Peter Maxwell Davies

A disastrous Promenade Concert reception became a momentous turning point in the stormy life of composer, Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016). A dissatisfied part of the audience booed and walked out, during the premier performance of his large orchestral work, ‘Worldes...

Distinguished organist Jennifer Bate dies aged 75

A distinguished Life member of the British Music Society since 1980 as well as a Vice President, Jennifer Bate OBE lost her life to cancer on 25 March. Having received professional training from an early age from her organist father H. A Bate, Jennifer chose to focus...

Subscribe to our monthly enewsletter

* indicates required

Latest News